1/3 HP chiller: which to buy?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Herefishyfishy

Smart Bass
All success and horror stories welcome. Going to buy a 1/4 -1/2 HP chiller and have no idea which are good or bad and thus what to pay.

I need one also, quietness as well as durability & power consumption is all important!

I have a cl650. I got a great deal on it so I dont complain to much. It eats fans. The replacement fans from pc last only two months and the better ones from grainger last about 6. PC service is fine as long as you want to pay to ship the heavy thing back to them for repairs. Getting them to ship parts so you can fix it yourself is another story. Its to loud to watch tv, my wife added moving it outside to the honey do list.
The dual controler built into the unit is nice and always dead on.
Although it works when the fan works I would not buy another one.

Don

I have been using a JBJ Arctica 1/3 hp for about 18 months without any probs.:)
Scott

Mike I have a pair of Current Chillers with the added UV light features on both I have over 2 years use on both with never a problem. One is a 1/4 horse power and the bigger one is a 1/3 hp on a 150 gallon reef with 3 each 250 watt halides + 360 watts VHO + 4 mag drive pumps and over 200 watts of PC lighting for fuges It make a great heater in Eastern Oregon this time of the year

Nobody has any info on chillers? Wow!

Not sure there is a whole lot to say on this topic really! I'll give you some of the factors I considered when I bought mine:

- Get an inline chiller rather than one that has a drop-in element. These can be flaky, get bumped around, and break.