14g biocube cleanup crew question

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Prest0nC

Hi,

I just setup my first nano a week ago and I believe things are going smoothly. Yesterday, I went to my LFS and purchased 1 cleaner shrimp, 4 astreas, 2 scarlet hermits and 1 zebra hermit. Will this be enough to keep my tank clean? Do you recommend adding anything else?

As I am new to saltwater I do not know how efficient these little critters are. Some insight would be great!
Oh and I am starting to get some diatoms and red algae in my tank, possibly due to high phosphate levels?? What would be the best way to lower them?

nitrates/ammonia are 0
ph 8-8.2
temp: 78

Thanks a bunch!

Last edited:
It might be phosphates, are you feeding the tank? Live rock source/cured? Used sand?

I'm curious if you ever had any ammonia, seems way too fast for your cycle to be finished already. The algae growth is probably the reason your not registering any nitrates, the algae is taking it up as fast as its being produced.

also there's a ton more info we'd need before we can answer whats causing the diatoms....

I would toss about 20 hermits and 20 assorted snails in there for a CUC. The hermits will eat the snails and some of the hermits will eat other hermits, or they will just die off. They are $1 a piece, eat lots of left overs. That makes them pretty cheap when considering salt water animals.

It might be phosphates, are you feeding the tank? Live rock source/cured? Used sand?

I'm curious if you ever had any ammonia, seems way too fast for your cycle to be finished already. The algae growth is probably the reason your not registering any nitrates, the algae is taking it up as fast as its being produced.

also there's a ton more info we'd need before we can answer whats causing the diatoms....