400w or 250w MH for my corals....

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

King_Neptune

Skimmer Skuzz
I have two lights to consider right now for my 125 reef tank I'm building.

The tank is 72" x 22"deep. Its 18" wide if that matters.

It is my first system. I am new to the world of saltwater but I have big ambitions. I want a tank that will let me grow anything and everything(provided its comaptible with something already in my tank)

I have a choice beetween two very good light's and need help choosing:

First one:

Looking at a 72inch PFO light for sale.

It is PFOs professional brand with the parabolic reflectors and deeper hood. The hood contains 3x 400 watt metal halide fixtures, 2x 6ft VHO fixtures, and remote ballasts. The hood is black and has tow fans, one at each end for cooling, and there is a protective lens covering to protect the bulbs. $400.

The other one is the same light but 250W version. $500.

My question is simple:

Which one is the one I should buy? I'd like to make my descision based on what is best for my Reef tank. Not the cheaper of the two. Can I harm my tank with the nicer 400W lights? Or will I be fine?

I should also add that I will most likely keep these lights hanging from the ceiling, not inside a stuffy cover.

Last edited:
I have two lights to consider right now for my 125 reef tank I'm building.

The tank is 72" x 22"deep. Its 18" wide if that matters.

It is my first system. I am new to the world of saltwater but I have big ambitions. I want a tank that will let me grow anything and everything(provided its comaptible with something already in my tank)

I have a choice beetween two very good light's and need help choosing:

First one:

Looking at a 72inch PFO light for sale.