A little help PLEASE!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

as1720

Female Hermit crab
OK so this is my first time setting up a tank with water in it. (im used to putting snkaes in tanks)

Here is what i have.

Bak Pak 2 protien skimmer and Bio Filter in one....Do these work well?

100 watt water heater... Is this enough for a 29 gal tank?

And a normal hood light...Should i keep it on or off while cycling the water?

I have 50 lbs of live sand...IS that enough too much?

The big filter to the left was in the shed figured maybe it would work for moving around the water....Yes no?

There is also another little pump on the left hand side doesnt have too much pressure... is it really needed?

Also i added the salt to the water about a week ago should i take it out and start over its just been sitting doing nothing?

I plan on getting 30 lbs of live rock.

Here is a picture of our set up so far. We had a set back from Crushed coral and under gravel filter. Started putting stuff in befor i started reading.

tanknohood.jpg

We want to put two clown fish and anamnese sp? for the clown in there. And a baby tang which when it outgrows the tank has a home.

What lights do i need for the anamnese? Its a only a 29 gal tank.

I want to keep this tank simple.

Last edited:
I would recommend mesh modding a maxi-jet 1200 for your bak-pak skimmer. It doubles the power of that skimmer. I am using the same skimmer on my 40b and It fills the collection cup every day and a half of some dark smelly skimmate. Also I see you have a power filter on that tank I would take that off and just use your HOB skimmer. If you want you are more than welcome to come over and see how I have mines set-up. I also live in Tacoma well it is actully Spannaway but Tacoma address. Just PM me for my number and address if you want to come by.

Sarang

Welcome to the hobby and good job on looking for info.