Acrylic Tank Repair

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

tike

Hey Gang!

I bought Erik's 60 gallon sps tank a few months ago. While we were disassembling it we crack it:( . The crack comes off one of the holes drilled for the closed loop. I am a amatuer at repairing acrylic (but a pro at glass!:) )

So my questions for you acrylic pros is......what is the best way to go about this?? I know that Weld On is the cement of choice but other then that I'm Lost!:confused: Any suggestions would greatly be appreciated!!!

I am attaching a few pics of the crack so you get a cleaner picture about what i am talking about.

Thanks!!
Willie

I'm not a expert, But I've seen others patches for similar things. Basically I think you would take out both bulkheads there and get a big piece of arcylic and cover the whole area. Then re-drill the arcylic in the same location as the existing holes and reinstall the Bulkheads.

Basically just cover up that whole area with a new piece.

Cool! Now, should i glue the new piece to the inside or outside??

willie

I'd do it on outside and do as James described above. I'd get a piece of acrylic the same thickness as your tank and weldon it to the outside of your tank in the damage area. I'd let it dry then re-drill out the bulkheads. You could paint the back black before you do that though and that'd hide the sheet of acrylic but then again coralline will cover it eventually.

Last edited:
Okay....now for the weld on. Where do i get it??? I have tried Home depot but they don't carry it. Also what type of paint is best for acrylic?

Last edited:
Kel Tech on pine just of 38th by the Tacoma mall. Forgot the name but there is another place behind the humane society on center street.

Don

Just my 2 cent: I would not waste my time painting it.