An acrylic 30G cube in the making...any suggestions?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

chinkie253

Hello everyone,

I'm getting ready to start my acrylic 30G cube. I have very little experience with the saltwater world, but I did a lot of researching. So here is my setup going to be like.

-20Wx20Lx18H 1/2" thick acrylic w/ a center overflow.
View attachment 24284
-A used 280W Orbit light (MH, PC, 4 lunar lights)...really big in size.
But I'm thinking about selling it and get the 24" Solaris I4 or the older version of it.
-AquaC Remora pro with a Mag 3 or Eheim or something that will fit into the overflow box (somehow). The reason why I got the HO, well first I got a really good deal for it. Second my cabinet doesn't has alot of room. and I wanted to save some space for a calcium reactor. I saw a package deal on marinedepot...Korallin Calcium Reactor 1502 Package 2 for $600 or a used one.
I'm also thinking about getting the Euro-Reef rs80 or the tunze nano skimmer, hopefully new from ebay or fellows reeffrontiers.
I don't have a sump yet. I was looking through some of the custom sumps on Lifereef.com, and I have contact the guy, but his sump is a bit expensive, ~$500 for a 18x13x15, that's way too much. I really like his setup though. so if someone can custom make the sump...please let me know. or I can make one with the reg. 10G.
I have a question for anyone, do you thinking a UV sterilization is a good thing? If I do decide to go with the UV light, I'll get the Coralife turbo 9V.
Well, next would be some tunze nano pumps, the 6055 model w/ a multi controller. I want to get two of the pumps and place them under the return holes for some water current. well maybe just one pump b/c I have read that pump is quite powerful.
Last would be the monitors, hanna monitors, AC jr, reef keeper II or something similar to that. Anyone have a good monitors system that would want to recommend or sell?