Another Lighting Question

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

memer

I have read and studied and narrowed my selection down but would really like some help, please. This will be a one time purchase and I need to do it right! I upgraded from my 55 gallon, (up 2 years) to a 125 gallon (up one year). It has always been a FOWLR with power compact lighting, total of 260 watts. I have been saving to purchase a light system for the 125 gallon so I can add corals. It is currently seriously underlit although I have been able to keep 2 anemones, alive and well, colt coral and xenia. The tank is 60" long, 18" wide and 24" deep. I have the lighting choices narrowed down to three. Cost is a factor! I am a novice and have slowly learned as I went! No great failures yet.

1. 60 " Current USA SunPod 3x150w 14k HQI MH; I am hesitant because of the internal ballasts. Can ballasts be replaced if needed? I could continue to run my PCF fixture with this if needed, if lighting wasn't strong enough.

2. 60" Current uSA SunPod 3x250w 14k HQI MH. This has external ballasts but would this be too much light for my tank. Could ballasts be replaced for lower wattage lights if needed? I could also run my PCF fixture with this.

3. 60" Odyssea 3x250W DE HQI with external ballasts, 2x65W and 2x96W PCF fixture. Not heard much about these "offbrand" fixtures".

I plan on keeping the tank a mixture of fish and "easy" corals.
Thanks for any and all input!