Any Ideas on T5 Problem?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

lizardarm

Reptilian Disco Biscuit
between a rock and a hard place: (Bremerton, WA)
Hey all,
I've got an Icecap T5 retrofit kit with the Icecap 660 ballast. As of yesterday the lamps wont light up. If I unplug it and plug it back in one lamp (the first one in line from the ballast) will come on for about one second then shut off. Tried swapping the lamps around to see if it changed anything- nada; wiggled the wires, reconnected the wiring harness- all to no avail.
Anyone ever seen this before? I really don't want to buy another ballast without being sure.
T.I.A.
Chris

I have been using them for a few yrs and sometimes when a bulb isn't just right the bulb's all turn on for a second and then turn off. I then have to find the bulb that isn't in quite right. Or a wire may not be connected right. It can be quite a headache. Only other thing it could be is a blown fuse.

I've always had the best luck with them pointing down. Although i run my mini cone with the output pointed up and get 35scfh with a pw : ) I would say to run the sicce in 10" water as they do best in 10"

Depending on the model. If you run the swc160 8" may work better but on the 200-300 10" is much better. You'll gain around 5scfh from 8-10"

I had the same problem with my T-5 IC system
I had the wrong wire to the wrong end of the bulbs
Check your colors...

Depending on the model. If you run the swc160 8" may work better but on the 200-300 10" is much better. You'll gain around 5scfh from 8-10"