best way to start a frag tank ?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

austin6965

recently ive been wanting to start a frag tank and ive been trying to talk my dad into letting me :eyebrows: so im trying to figure out how to start , i plan on using a 20 gallon tank (30in length X 12in width X 12in high) i have a light that was from an old 25 gl nano cub , im pretty positive it will be strong enough for the most part (i hope) , one thing im not sure about though is how to go about the filtering system we have a 10 gl sump in the garage but no pumps or over flow and plumbing , is it possible to just use a standard filtering system you can get at pet stores or no:confused: ? its only going to be used for coral but im new to a lot of this so i dont know everything , anyway if you have any advice on how u should do this please tell :wave:

Since Coral requires good water quality, I would say personally that you should have at least a HOB skimmer. It would be best to setup a sump and get a lot of water flow through there.

The only time I have found a standard HOB carbon filter to work is on a QT tank.

Oh, and nice to see someone of similar age on the forum :lol:

we have an extra HOB skimmer somewhere so thats taken care of at least , and ill try and see about getting everything for the sump to get that going i think theres a pump some where not completely sure on that haha

and thanks haha :lol:

What type of light are you going to use?
You will need flow inside the tank.

The easiest way to do this to start with what you have? Assuming your light is good enough for corals.
Just get a HOB filter and media, HOB skimmer rated for a 40 gal tank, a couple of power heads, heater. Set it up, run it thru your typical cycle. Add your corals bit by bit.
Here is the MOST IMPORTANT part. Do a 20% water change every week!!!!!