Calcium Levels Disagreement

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

ReeFish

Longish-time member, first post!

After more than a year researching and reading, I have set up my own nanocube 12G aquarium. I am a molecular biologist by trade and had freshwater for 14 years.

The problem: my two calcium test kits are showing very different results. My Tropic Marin test kit shows <300ppm, while my Red Sea test kit shows ~400ppm. Which one is right?

I'm using Tropic Marin Salt Mix, which I've already read has low calcium issues. I've been dosing 10ml calcium carbonate for two days and the Red Sea went up from <300ppm to 400ppm, but the Tropic Marin is still not registering anything. My gut instinct, as scientist, is to trust the Tropic Marin test kit, though I don't know the chemistry either kit is using.

I read a lot of opinions about all the test kits out there, and I guess I am asking for opinions here, but please don't respond with: "Blank Stinks!" If you have a reason to trust one company's kit over the other, please let me know!

Today's readings: Temp: 77.9, pH 8.2, Spec grav 1.022, dKH 8.5, Ammonia: 0ppm, Nitrite: 0, Nitrate: 0, phosphate: 0.2mg/l, calc - see above.

I'll be watching this thread. I expect your response will be something like La mote or Hatch for absolute values. They are quite expensive. I currently use Aquarium pharm, but I also wonder as my La mote seems to show higher levels, but could be it's older reagents. Don't really know the life of typical reagents. Boomer I'm sure will respond. But other than the pro lab kits I wonder what is the leading consumer kit with some amount of reliability?

First, I use salifert test kits for almost everything. Good accuracy, and not too expensive.