copperband in a reef?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

matts125

I want to know from experience how the copperband butterfly does in a mixed reef? I have lots of zoas, a few mushrooms, lps such as open brains, hammers and frogspawn. and several acro's.
I want to add this fish to my reef but fear how destructive it may be.
right now I have him in my 100 gallon FOWLR I have added a couple zoa and mushroom rocks, some leathers and xenia. To my surprise the butterfly has not touched any of them.. they have been in there for a coulpe weeks too.

any ways just let me know from your experience how these fish do in a reef...

Thanks
Matt

i will tell you up front that i have no experience with these fish, but i have read that if they are underfed, they might feed on certain corals!!!

you could see what it really likes to eat(other than coral), that way if it does eat your coral it could be trapped by using that food.

I never see him eat when I feed, he just eats all day long off the live rock. so it may be hard to catch him if things dont turn out...

Matt

Any clams? My CBB turned into a big time clam muncher:badgrin: Had to send my last one over to Tom to rescue it. Keep an eye on it, mine was a model citizen for over 6mo. then all of a sudden decided the clam looked yummy:mad:

Copper bands are reef safe,and i had one in my reef tank, If you can get one to live long it can be a grate fish. I never had a problem with it eating coral just small dusters.

I would be very worried about him eating my clams, how fast can a small 2'' copperband kill a clam? I just would like to know if he did start eating them how long I would have to get him out of there...

Matt