commercial coral diver
hey i have a couple questions about farming mass coral

the plan is to grow discs red and purple in sun tanks
there will be 2 tanks they will be 6foot long by 2 wide and 1 high
they will share a sump with a fuge
my questions are
1 should i put any fish in the systems
2 what is an algea turf scrubber
3 will it be okay to grow differnt speices in 2nd tank eg. acro, scayphton or a mix of everything and having slower growth rates
4 do i need live rock except for basing
so any fish species or algea species for the farm/fuge would be help full
thanx in advance
Morgs

so i have no personal experience with coral farming but with my knowledge I know that coral eat fish poo so i would think having fish would be helpful but im not sure

coral dont eat fish poo and if they do it would be a minute amount coral would rather eat zoo or phyto plankton over detritus thanx for bumping this thread

coral dont eat fish poo and if they do it would be a minute amount coral would rather eat zoo or phyto plankton over detritus thanx for bumping this thread

Actually, many of the larger polyped corals obtain quite a bit of nutrition indirectly from fish poo. Fish poo is immediately attack by bacteria (called bacterial floc). If you have good circulation in your tank, this fish poo will be transported to the polyps where the bacterioplankton is digested. In fact, bacteria is such an important food for many SPS corals that they literally "farm" it in mucus nets which they suck into their polyps when they need food.

Most species of corals do don't directly eat phyto either and a good many of the ones that do are azooxanthellate (they don't get any nutrition from photosynthesis).

well i didnt know that curt i have seen my acro sliming for food but only when i have added it i wouldnt count on fish poo for food though im a lps feeder and think its essential to feed them alot