Crack in bottom

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

jmac

I'm currently seeking up my tank and was using a level the level fell in and hit the bottom of the tank and was wondering if any one had any ideas on how or what to fix this thank you.

Last edited:
Buy a new tank. No way to fix a cracked bottom other than tearing it completely apart, buy new tempered glass for the bottom.

For what I noticed it's not cracked all the way through...is it still repairable than ??

You can't repair glass like you can for a car windshield, if there is the tiniest fracture, then under pressure at any given time it can just let go. I'd be scared to invest that much into it and hope it doesn't leak or explode. Just my opinion, I'm not a glass expert.

Doesn't matter if it's all the way through or not. Imagine the amount of pressure it will be under! Bottom line, DO NOT use the tank period. Sorry ?

Not worth your while. Imagine you have everything set up and it gives in. Then you'll end up having to clean up that mess and start over.

imo without seeing it. Its toast. Get a new tank. A $200-$600 DT is cheaper than $1000s+ in livestock if it did burst.
hths
-d

I'd look into an acrylic tank. This would not of happened. What LxWxH is the glass tank? You could recoup some cash with the snake keepers. J

Well you could place a new sheet of glass in the bottom and silicon it in. This is still a little work but would make the tank usable.

Its unlikely you will get a proper seal by just putting a new sheet in the bottom. Also, sides should sit on top the bottom glass, the bottom glass shouldn't sit inside the sides.