First time

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

newbeeMike

This is my first time on any forum. I have decided to venture out into the world of Saltwater. I must admit I am just as scared as I am excited. I have never had a saltwater tank but have taken outstanding care of my 55 gallon tank which is the home of several gorgeous large goldfish (lionheads and others). My family thought I was crazy when I bought a $65 goldfish. Now they think Iam even crazier. I currently have a 45 gal show tank (empty). A emperor 400 filter. a protein skimmer, powerhead. and Light (my wife wanted to kill me when she saw the receit for the light. I am going to purchase the water, sand and live rock next weekend. I am lucky enough to live in central florida and have looked online and found a couple of of places that sell live rock and I can pick it up. I was a little nervous about buying it online. I rather see what I am getting. I am looking for any advice for starting a new tank. Should I put the water sand and rock in together for the first time. Should I put the sand and water first and wait to but the rock. No clue what to do. I want to have a reef tank with various coral. any advice of cleaner critters and were to get them (is online buy safe?). Thanks .. Mike