Has anyone used the CustomFlo water system?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

NewGirl

Hi there,

I'm new to saltwater fishkeeping, and I'm doing lots and lots and LOTS of reading and research while setting up my tank and gathering equipment. I'm trying to decide on water flow for my tank. It's going to be mostly LPS with fish. So far I've got two Tunze 6101's, and I'm looking for something a little extra. I like the idea of the closed loop system in addition to the Tunzes, but I really don't want to drill my tank. I came across the Pentair Aquatics CustomFlo Water System, and am interested. Has anyone ever used this on their tank, and if so, would they recommend it? :)

Hello Newgirl,
I am not sure what size tank you have. Tunze 6101's push a lot of flow. The thing I wish people would have told me first was how important aquascaping is. You want to place your rock in middle of tank so water flow hits as much of rock as possible. A person I would look up for reference on this would be Jake Adams. Jakes specialty is fluid dynamics.
If you use any type of media filter, you have to be prepared to change out media as needed. This means extra work, time and money.
The easiest method in my oppinion is a good protien skimmer with flow suspending things in water column. You rock will do a lot of work for you if placed correctly.

You are on the right track on reading as much as possible.