help ID a hitchiker

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

kpiotrowski

Kevin
All you all have been great responding to the newbie section...and I am a newbie so here it goes. too small to get a pic, but Iv'e got my first hitchiker and of course I am jumping to the conclusion AIPTASIA out of newbie fear. I have seen several .5mm to 2mm little creature that look like upsidedown aiptasia. their stalks are about twice the size of their bodies, are clearish white in color ( but the larger ones have a tinge of light burgandy) have 8 to 12 very uniform tenticals terminating in bright white bulbs with hair like projections extending from each bulb 2-3 times their size. they are hanging around tenticles down on my macros and on the glass...almost wrapping their arms around the macros. I notice a free swimming one flying around like a jelly fish with the same type of pulsing motion.

I have looked at a few hundered pics of hitchikers and many pic of aiptasia and they really look nothing like it. then agian they are very tiny still so, yeah, any ideas?

So, was this rock or infective pieces from another system and not the sterile stuff that began your build? If from another system, you could ask the source what if any hitchhikers were ID'd in their system prior to sale to pinpoint a name. You could re isolate any newly added rock till further ID, or nuke the rock surface in another bin and see if that removes them. I think Hydroids or if fresh rock could be jellyfish. They begin life like an anemone before launching/swimming. Bulb tipped subject is possibly young Marjano, still not good either way.