Help with a leak on my 29 biocube

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

crd04666

Hello everyone! I started with my biocube about 6 months ago so I'm fairly new at this. Chose to go with a biocube so I don't have do a whole lot of up keep or modifying. I recently moved the tank from one room to another and I've noticed a small drip/ leak on the upper left side about 3-4 inches from the corner--water leaks between the glass and plastic casing on the top. It probably drips about a drop every 5minutes. Can someone help how I can fix it? I'll be out of town next week for about 4 days and I'm afraid I might come back with a "disaster". Help!!!!

Thanks,
Coleen

Hi

I had the same problem with a leak on my tank awhile back. I tried to seal it about six times but it never stopped it, I think the only way to do it is to remove the top plastic frame and put a lot of silicone in there and push the plastic back on. I also found that my power head that I had blowing over the surface made it leak worse

Do I need to empty out my tank to reseal with silicone? Is it safe for the livestock? Unfortunately, I don't have another tank to temporarily house them:(

yes you would need to empty it first and let the silicone cure for 48 Hours to be on the safe side

I actually don't have any fishes yet..just shrimp,snails and corals. Will it be ok if I transfer everything in a bucket for 48 hours while I'm drying up my tank?

well in the past i have done it but i kept them in my RO water butt,that holds about 100L

Instead of buying a large tube of silicone and (possibly) making a mistake and buying the wrong one, going to a local fish store and picking up a tube of aquarium silicone might be a safer option.
Most every store carries it.