Hobbyist to farmer

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Gordonious

Anthony, I wanted to send this to you in a pm, but haven’t been able to figure out how to do it on this site or others. I'm a college student looking for advice on how to move from a hobbyist to a coral farmer.

I am a senior undergrad at the University of Delaware that has fallen in love with marine life. It has taken me many years and several majors to find my calling, but this hobby and the ocean has drawn me in. Besides keeping many aquariums at home, I worked for a summer in the University’s college of marine studies and I am now working for the Genard J. Mangone Center for Marine Policy.

I recently listened to one of your lectures you gave at Toronto last year, on reef videos .com. I am not too far off from graduation and although I thought about moving right into marine biology in grad school my GPA is not the greatest and everyone is advising me to work in the field a little first before doing so. In your lecture you encouraged people to talk with you about raising corals for profit and that is why I am writing to you. I would like to start aquaculturing corals now and expand into a business by the time I graduate.

If I can not culture enough animals to support myself, I would at least like to be able to cover the funds of my hobby. I am on a budget and someone eating PB&J and ramen noodles between classes really has to think twice before upgrading their lighting. lol

I was wondering if you might be able to suggest some organisms you think would be profitable to keep. If you want I can give you a little more info about my background as well as the equipment I currently have and the salt system I am currently keeping.