I need some advice with ordering Live Rock.

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Beckmola24

Hawkfish
Ok, I have a ton of live rock already, but it needs to be seeded. I have around 150 lbs of fiji that will need seeding, so I have several questions. First, How much live rock should I buy to do the seeding??? Second Where should I get the Live Rock from??? Third, If I'm seeding, should I get cured or uncured rock??? I want high quality live rock with a lot of coralline (that's important). There are many sites that carry live rock, but I've never ordered live rock before so I don't know who has the best rep. I don't want to order a bunch of rock and have it arrive as rubble. Let me know your opinions! Thanks in Advance!!!

Becky... i'm no expert but I bought some good live rock from Live Aquaria and it was about $3.50/lb with shipping. you have to cure it for a few weeks to make sure you won't have an amonia spike but it is good. I bought 45lbs. online and another 15 to 20lbs in the LFS. I bought the other 50lbs of rock that had to be seeded and it is going well.

I don't think you need that much to seed it. Basically your goal is just to diversify your many rock-dwelling creatures. I wouldn't even order it online. I would buy 3 moderate sized rocks from 3 different local fish stores, or similar. This will allow you to diversify greatly, hand pick the pieces, and purchase less rock (unless you need a bunch more rock).

On the other hand, One of the main problems with getting rock from a local fish store or online is that some of the rock will have die off from shipping. I would look to get a couple pieces from established tanks. Then it is fully cured, with no die off, should not cause any sort of spike, and will add diversity to your tank.