looking for filter suggestions

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Clownguy

I was hoping people had some pictures of there sumps for their sps systems. I have been running a sump with 6-8" of sand for about 5 years now and have never been able to get my nitrates below 40 ppm. I was hoping people could help give me some pictures for suggestions on filtration. Thanks.

Chris

Clownguy said:
I was hoping people had some pictures of there sumps for their sps systems. I have been running a sump with 6-8" of sand for about 5 years now and have never been able to get my nitrates below 40 ppm. I was hoping people could help give me some pictures for suggestions on filtration. Thanks.

Chris
:?: Chris... there most likely is a - lot of people here who could/would help ya.... if you can let us know more of your info of the Tank/Habitants/Feeding/type of food/lighting.....? i now for myself i can atleast get you in the right direction.... CW.

Clownguy said:

Chris
Have you tried a refugium?? I know that macro helped me a bunch.

I agree with both of these guys.... It could be a number of facors... As CW mentioned over feeding, bioload etc. IMO and as Charlie said lots of macro algae for nitrate reduction.

Are the higher nitrates a recent happening?

I love 100 micron filter sock... one my best decissions, that and a GOOD skimmer and your set! A Fuge is always a good thing to have but in my opinion invest in a GOOD skimmer.

How do those socks work for you?
The sump on my 375 is getting two sock slots that I will only use during cleaning the main tank to catch the debris. I won't run them on a continous basis... I figure running them all the time will make them a nitrate trap unless cleaned all the time. There is the possibility of them getting clogged or catching a critter that finds its why down the overflow...

More INFO.Please :) whats else is in the sump do you have a skimmer how many fish in what size tank etc.