Low Alkalinity

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

saltywater

I have been keeping a 180gal Reef tank for 1 year and 6 months. I have always had problems keeping the alkalinity around 3.00. For more than a day or two with out adding baking soda and washing soda at a 6 to 1 ratio. Normal maintenance on the tank is as follows 20% water changed every two weeks. Dose tank with CalxMax Part A & B at 50ml every other day. I also dose the tank with baking soda & washing soda at least once a week depending on alkalinity test results. With doing this I am able to keep the alkalinity at around 2.70 or so. But it is a real battle to keep it stable.

I tested my water last night and my alkalinity was again down to 2.29. My calcium stays stable at 490 and my PH was 8.0.

Above was just a bit of background on my current setup. Now to the reason I am writing this. This weekend I am upgrading my current tank to a 450gal tank. On the new system I do not want to have this battle with my alkalinity. Any suggestions on how to resolve this issue.

Drop your calcium level and you will be able to keep your Alk up.
The corals actually do better with Ca 350-420. Alk is the main thing use anyway.
Basicly you are unbalanced skewed to CA instead of having a ballaced system.
Go to Great Threads on this board. Then go to Calculators, then go CA/Alk calculator. It will tell you what ballanced is. Basicly the best way, and cheapest would be a large water change, with no CA added to the salt, then let Ca fall while keeping Alk at the point you want it.
Are you using Oceanic salt?

I have tried lowering my calcium before but my coral did not like that. With my calcium at 490 my corals have doubled in size and are very healthy. I have never added any CA to my salt or my water change water. No I am not using Oceanic salt I am using Tropic Marin salt mix.