Micro air

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

S

scootertrash

I'm a rookie at salt water. I recently purchased a 180 gal. reef setup. All livestock was included. I think the previous owner lost interest and neglected it badly. It has been setup a little over 2 and a half months now and of course we have the usual battles with all the algaes and diatoms. I think we might even have a case of old tank syndrome since the previous owner had it about 7 years and obviously rarely ever cleaned or did water changes on a regular basis. But my main thing is now .....all the micro air that seems to come and go from the tank. It is a drilled tank with corner overflows on each end. The overflows are the Durso type. There are a few medium sized bubbles in the overflow on each end but a massive amount of air coming from the overflow down in the sump and the water flow is much higher on one end than the other. If it matters the overflow line from the bottom of the tank to the sump is much longer and made from the flex type pipe on one end also. I tried installing gate valves on the overflow lines and adjusting them along with the gate valve for the return pump. I guess one question I have is.....do both of the return lines need to be the same length.? Is there a way to adjust overflow water rate of flow to the rate of flow for the return supply pump.?

Well the overflow is only going to flow as fast as the return pump is pumping it in. So if you slow your return pump down, it will in turn slow down the flow in the overflow.
I do not see why both overflow lines have to be the same length. As long as they are unobstructed they should flow the same. Mine are not the same length, however I am using a durso standpipe style.