Movin’ on up (on the East Side) to a 375g

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

stalefish

Hi – you all don’t know me (although I chatted very briefly with a few of you at the last couple of PSAS meetings), but I almost feel like I know so many of you from reading all of your posts on RF. My name’s Don, I live in Sammamish, WA, and against the sound advice of many (all non-aquarium types), I’ve into reefkeeping.

I’m still fairly new at this - I’ve been running a 100ish gallon tank for about 2 years now and after what is a ridiculously short period of time with my first tank that was supposed to last forever, I’m upgrading – this hobby is definitely a disease.

So now it’s my turn to have Jason at Clear Fabrications build me my dream tank! The dimensions are going to be 96x30x30 with a wood stand (also to be obtained through CF). I was toying with going wider, but after reading Joe’s Wet Dream (lots of fun explaining to the wife exactly what I was reading on the Internet late at night!) I measured the width of my door and found that it’s about 32” – so I’m pretty much at maximum width.

I started off trying to cut some corners to keep the cost down – things like shoe-horning in as much of my current equipment as possible, but as my discussions (yes, plural) with Jason progressed, I realized that if I was going to do something this big, I needed to do it right, otherwise I was probably just causing myself extra cost, regret and maybe grief in the long run.