my first saltwater/reef tank

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

fatboyt123

hey everyone my name is travis and i am very new to reef tanks not that i dont know anything about them because i have done my research but i just have never had a tank before.

i have had freashwater for a couple of years and i think it time to switch to the real fish keeping dont get me wrong i lived keeping freash water but once you done everything and had every kind of freashwater fish there is its time to switch

saltwater for me started two years ago when my sister got her first tank (40 gallon breeder) that she did a nice little setup on. by the time she had got hers up i had a 30 gallon out side my room a 75 and a 20 in my room and a 55 gallon at the top of the stairs (all and cichlids in them). when your the only person with fish in the house its fine but when my sister got here tank up it went form "travis your fish are so cool" to "travis your fish are dumb and mean and they pick on each other to much come upstairs and look at your sisters tank "

i handeled things like that for about a year untill i said this has to stop thats way i sold all my tanks and bought my current project my 155 gallon bowfront setup that is going to be a reef tank mainly sps the only thing i really need now is my lights (400 watt halide 20k and 2 250 watt halide 15k) calcium reactor and some other little things.

tell me what you guys/gals think about it for the first setup or just give me some advice on what you think i should do or something that you dont think i will know because i know i am going to learne stuff along the way