My once purple fuzzy mushrooms have turned white. Why?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Bethlp

Hi. Newbie here. Please pardon me if this is a stupid question. I have a 24 gallon Nanocube. One of the first corals I added (about three months ago) was a group of purple fuzzy mushrooms. Up until about two weeks ago they looked fine. They had a little blue/white iridescense on their tips which just made them prettier. When contracted they were dark purple. When expanded, mostly reddish purple with that blue sheen on the tips. Gradually they have lost almost all of their purple color (shedding their algae?). They are now almost completely white and half their fully extended size. I have other purple fuzzy mushrooms now that are looking fine and healthy, though the edge of one has started to get pale in the last 24 hours. What's up?

Water tests fine. I use NutriSea water and adjust salinity with distilled water. I do a one quarter water change once a week. Salinity 1.022; temperature 76, Nitrate 12.5; Nitrite 0.3; Ph 8.0; Calcium 400; Amonia 0.0; Cabonate hardness 12; I turn the lights on at 6:30am and off at 8pm. No metal halides. I do have a blue moonlight.

Other animals in the tank: Bangai Cardinal; Six line wrasse; Maroon clown and BTA; zoanthus, three types of star polyp, pulsating xenia, a handful of mahano anemones; trumpet coral; button polyps; frogspawn; two branch hammerhead coral; tree coral; three other purple fuzzy mushrooms, a colony of smooth purple mushrooms; 3 nassarius snails; 20 hermits; 1 pom pom crab; 1 emerald crab.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Last edited:
Water tests fine. I use NutriSea water and adjust salinity with distilled water. I do a one quarter water change once a week. Salinity 1.022; temperature 76, Nitrate 12.5; Nitrite 0.3; Ph 8.0; Calcium 400; Amonia 0.0; Cabonate hardness 12; I turn the lights on at 6:30am and off at 8pm. No metal halides.