Need some advice on a sick Hippo Tang

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Stick

I'm a newbie at this. Just got a 90 gal reef setup started about 6 weeks ago. Have about 110 lbs of live rock, 2 maroon clowns, 2 engineer gobies, 1 diamond goby, 1 flame angel and 1 hippo tang. Plus some snails and hermit crabs. Had the water checked and everything seems fine. PH is good, low nitrates, etc.

But have a sick Hippo Tang. She has a white/gray spotting on her lower body and is acting sluggish. Any ideas on the problem?

Try this

I had the same problem with my hippo. They seem to show signs of stress before any other fish will. Make sure that the temp of the water doesn't change more than a few degrees. They don't like the change in temp at all. Is the fish getting picked on at all? If both of those are ok then what worked very well for me and seemed to get rid of the white spots witin a few days was putting a drop of KENT'S GARLIC EXTREAM on the food. I feed formula one frozen foods it will absorb the garlic when it is unthawed. Try that and let me know how it worked.

Thanks, but I lost her Monday. I'll remember that advice though for the next one. I really like them and will want to replace her someday. Will the same advice apply in general about all Tangs, or is that more specific for Hippo's?