New Fad...? Mated Clown Fish in LFS....?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

cwrenge

:?: lately around my area....( after Nemo Phase in LFS ) there are " Mated Clown Fish / Paired ? for sale in lots of LFS .... my question is.... Are they really Mated.....? or are the lfs marketing a new extended Nemo Phase with Mated Clown Fish....? the pairs ( ? ) are very expensive to most of us in the fish world.... so how can we not get Ripped- Off....? i'm no expert by any means... i wouldn't want any one dissappointed in ther hobby.... can any one help me/us to detect what is and what is just a " Throw of the Dice " so to speak in mateing apair of Clown Fish....? cw.

Most of the time "mated" clownfish have not actually had a successful spawn, which is what is really relevant to most of us. However, in many cases, what mated implies is that they are 2 fish that are coexisting and getting along as a "pair" would. Meaning that based on the difference in size and lack of aggression between the clowns it is assumed you have a male and a female that would have the potential to reproduce if given the right circumstances.
This is a bit misleading knowing that a the dominant clown of any group should change into a female and a pair could be acquired. By buying the "mated" pair you avoid the aggression and time required to buy 4 fish and wait for two of them to "pair" up.
Clownfish "pairs" are relatively easy to create, there are some species that are more difficult, but in general not too bad. So the money savings comes in that paying $60 for a "mated" pair is technically cheaper than buying 4 fish for $20 each and having 2 fish you don't know what to do with now or suffer from aggression from the newly formed pair.

That's sounded like a bit of a convoluted answer, does it make sense? :)

I talked about this recently, and I will post later....as part of a bigger discussion..

- Ilham

pondfrog said: