new fish in reef tank

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

janet58

i'm a new member to this site (1st time to any site), but i've been an reef hobbyist for more than 10 years. I've usually kept more inverts than fish, but recently i've introduced a yellow tang and coral beauty into the tank that have'nt lasted more than a month. i have a blue wrasse and a lawmower blenney which have done fine for more than a year. the wrasse is a bit aggressive, but did fine with a semi-aggresive maroon clown that i had for more than 10 years. I have some macroalgae (the one that looks like little grapes) and a bit of hair algae i want to keep under control, which is why i chose the tangs for my tank. are the wrasses a bit too aggresive for the tangs, or do i need a more dominant species of tang? maybe they need a different type of macroalgae, or never really adjusted to a new environment. how long should i acclimate a new fish to the tank?
any suggestions?

tank specs
90 gallon
aqua c protein skimmer
iwaki circulating pump
2 maxi jet 1200s
ph 8.3
alk 2.5 (stable)
cal 450
phos .0-.1

several finger, kenya trees
3 acrapora
4 torch and wall corals
many purple mushrooms
plate coral
leather coral
open brain coral
devils hand (lobo..something)
clam
plenty of corralline algae
(obviously i need some new terminology for the species i grow)
thanks a bunch!

WELCOME TO REEF FRONTIERS!

I've never been one for recommending to keep any marine life form for the sake of correcting or managing a problem with the aquarium -- other than snails. I believe in keeping the lifeforms you want to truly keep and taking care of problems and managing other issues the way they should be handled. That is, take care of the cause rather than address the symptoms. Hair and other algae indicates the availability of nitrates, phosphates, iron and a few other trace elements, along with some organics.

The 90 gallon aquarium is too small for Tangs in general.