New Guy Here w/ Some ?????

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

bigd

Hi all,

I just signed up and have to say this is an amazing site and after reading a ton of posts everyone seems very knowlegable and friendly so I thought I would post some questions.

Im extremely new to the marine hobby but have kept fresh water tanks for quite some time. I also dont mind doing my research which seems to help in this hobby considering it's so involved but I still have lots of ???'s. Im thinking of starting a FOWLR tank first with my 55gallon and possibly moving into a 110galon reef in the future so I want my equipment to be able to handle a larger tank.

Live Rock

First of all I have ordered live rock from ocean pro and Iam having it shipped ground because of cost reasons. Being that I live in the north east it could take up to 7 days. I know this is not ideal but being that it is a brand new tank should this be a problem. As in after die off and cycling will the rock be fine?? Another thing. I have notice ed a guy selling a guide on ebay on how to create and seed your own live rock from existing live rock in your system what do you think of this.

Protein skimmer

Can you guys give me a couple of sugestion for a good and economical in sump skimmer for a tank of 110 gallons. I was about to seaclone 150 (cheap) from the lfs till I did some reading and realized how important it is.

Lighting

What do you guys suggest for lighting on a 110gallon FOWLR tank with the possible addition of some easy maintance corals at a later date.

Sump

Im going to utilize a sump with mechanical poly filter and bioballs which will hold my skimmer as well. I just recently found out that bioballs are not good at elimating nitrates but this sound be fine with fish only?? Keep in mind that i will have 55lbs of live rock in my 55gallon.