New (hi and please help)

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

cmay

I'm a total beginner in marine fish so please except my apologies for my lack of terminology.

I've fallen for the beauty of marine life, the colours, coral, fish and the fact I can set up and watch my own eco system in my home.

My objective is to set up my 4 ft (50gal) tank with live rock/coral reef, fish and various other live stock which will support and live with each other.

I'm planning to set my rock on a raised egg island (using spray bar going down and under the rock to improve water flow and filtration through the rock) and position water flow jets in various other places (close system)

As from reading water flow is very important ?

I believe a two grades live DSB will be the best solution for my biological filter and animals to borrow ?

After the water has reached the correct PH levels and temp im going to add the live DSB and rock (or should I add the DSB at the same time ???) leave for a good 2 months before introducing coral and then another month before fish, im under the impression the slower the better in order for the eco system to adapt and produce optimum cycling, also to watch my live rock come alive

However I'm finding the sump area slightly confusing with so many designs, I'v purchased a 2nd hand Deltec APF600 however im not sure if I will need a better filter system as I believe my DSB may not suffice depending on stoking levels.

Im not 100% sure the best way to use my sump apart from making my tank look tidy and increasing water volume which is good for water quality. (I would like to stick with Berlin method, using the sump partly for refug)

Whats the best order for the water to pass through the sump.

I'm confused !!!!

I would be most grateful for any advice or links to extra readings, I really want to get as much knowledge as possible before I start.

Thanks for all your help in advance

cmay said: