New/Old member ready to get back in maybe

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

SeattleIT

Hello,
I live in Kitsap County (near Seattle/Tacoma) in Washington State. I am a software developer by trade.
Some of you might remember me; I see some names I remember. I had a few reef tanks, a few years back. I set up my first 30g saltwater tank in 2003, then a 125g reef on to a 240g and took down my last tank ion 2008/9, I haven’t had a tank since. Lately I have been missing the hobby, thinking real hard about setting up another tank. The wife isn’t real keen on a new tank she remembers the cost, maintenance, the circuit breaker popping and 55g trash cans full of saltwater in the garage. I remember the corals, the fish, the trips to LFS's waiting to find that perfect invert, the camaraderie of fellow reefers, the knowledge gained and the excitement of discovering new things in my tank.

I stopped by my LFS the other day, haven’t been back in years. I missed the smell of warm saltwater and the sound of overflow water rushing. This hobby feels a little like an addiction. My LFS offered to help me setup a tank at cost to get me back in, next stop I’ll be on street corner talking to a guy with corals/fish in bags inside his jacket.. :( If I rebuild it will likely be a combo of new and used equipment.

I haven’t bought anything yet, but I am thinking about keeping it simple this time maybe a 75g. Thought about a FOWLR simple right, but I like the clams and anemones too much. I don’t know what has changed in the reef world since 09, but I am willing to learn. I will likely stay quiet and stalk around until I can convince myself and the wife to let me back in.

Hi, welcome back to RF. I am on the Kitap Peninsula also. I started my first tank in April 2009. I am not on your local street corner but you and your wife are welcome to stop up any time. I can help you out with some things.