New to reefing with a couple questions

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Kenneth206

Ahoy RF,

I'm new to fishkeeping but I've been reading saltwater forums (myfishtank.net and reeffrontiers.com) for hours a day for about a month. I've also read all of the Resource Library on here with external links. Lots of very good information. I still have a couple questions though, I'll see if I can explain them clearly without pictures (a camera is on my list of purchases coming up).

I recently bought a 55g & stand on CL. Before anything else I'm going to be cleaning and hand buffing the inside of the tank. It looks decent with water in it but I figure if it's dry and I have time, why not make it pristine right.

It came with a 300watt heater, 2 MJ 1200s, hydrometer, thermo, test kit and a weird backpack type of filter that I believe is a Aqua Clear. Basically the filter sucks water up through a long narrow cylinder and disperses into 2 chambers with a spot for this weird looking foam block held in place with these plastic scrubber pad looking things. The water filters through then overflows out of each chamber back into the tank. I've been reading that most people use a trickle filter of sorts (thin layer of water off the top of the water) down into a sump where a protein skimmer is etc. I'm really trying not to use a sump since I'm in an apartment and I have nightmares of flooding. Can I get away with this filter and a backpack style protein skimmer (I was thinking Aqua C Remora with a prefilter too) if I want to do a reef tank, or FOWLR? I do have a spot I can put a 20g sump if I have to, I'm just a little scared of floods, hah. I did read some stuff on valves or something or other that helps prevent these but I also read about these failing.