New to Saltwater: tank design stage

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Ratfish

First Post:

Background:
I am new to salt water. When I was in high school I had three 20gal fresh water tanks in my bedroom, quite the ambiance. Its been a long time since I had an aquarium of any kind so when the time came a reef tank had the appeal I wanted. As I continue to do my research (I've been looking at this site for about a month before I made an account), I realize how daunting starting a reef tank is. Obviously the difficultly didn't deter me so I guess I'm in it for the long haul.

What I got now (equipment):
I recently acquired a 90 gal aqueon tank (internal flow) with cabinet
Current 48" hood lamp with 2 halides and 2 dual tubes 150w (not sure on lume rating of bulbs?, 2 months use on halides)
Octopus hurricane external skimmer
40 gal sump (three baffle sections)
2 karellia circulation pumps
an aqueon return pump
mr1 next reef media reactor... (plan on cycling tank, test, then decide what media to supplement based on needs)

Questions I have as newbie:
I want a RO/DI filter, not sure what would be a good buy? Melev's? Bulk Aquarium's? something on amazon? I would like something that would be easy to replace filters, and is a reliable product.

I have an external hurricane octopus... I am wondering how to set this thing up? Youtube is a little lacking in tutorials on this one. Main head scratcher is going to find a fitting that with fit snug on the return tube.