Plusrite MH Bulb

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

colin779

Does anyone have experience with these? I'm looking at the 175 watt 20k mogul base bulbs. I haven't been able to find much on them, but the little bit I can find seems to be mostly positive. My XM 20k's I think are about toast, this is my first time with 20k lamps, but these made it about 9 months. That's probably about average i suppose? At 20 per bulb I'm sure they won't last 9 months, but even if they last 6 that's only 80 every 9-12 months versus my current 130.

If anyone has experience with these let me know what you think, thanks a lot! =)

I tried them once and they are very yellow, I replaced them and kept them as a emergency back up.

More yellow than normal, they are cheap but I didnt like the look, mine were de 250 watts. I did save them and used them for a coupleofcweeks till my Ushio,s came in.

Ok gotcha. I have been hearing the DE Bulbs seemed to be less blue then the SE bulbs for some reason. Not sure what the cause could be though. I have tried Ushio lamps before, some 14k's. They didnt look much different than my XM 10k's. Are their 20k's better? I like the color of my XM 20k's, they just lost their intensity really fast.

I tried many types of cheaper MH bulbs and then finally gave up. They were cheaply made, and the metal parts where they made contact with the fixture kept causing issues (not making good conection, so the lights wouldn't work.) Most of them eventually fell apart. Spent a lot of time troubleshooting ballasts, etc. before I figured out that the bulbs were just crap. Poorly constructed. Not sure on these specifically. The ones I was trying were 10k's off ebay.