Setting up a 100 gallon FOWLR, first aquarium

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

ganglia

Hello,

100gal for a first timer? Why!!
Well, I was going for a 30 gallon... my friend recommended go at least 55 gallon. The next day I found a great deal on a 100 gal, and decided to go for it!

Since this is my first time with any aquarium, I'm planning to go FOWLR, and maybe corals in 6mos+

I've been reading the following books:
The Simple Guide To Mini-reef Aquariums by Jeffrey Kurtz
The New Marine Aquarium: Step-By-Step Setup & Stocking Guide by Michael S. Paletta

Weight:
- I live in a condo on the 2nd floor, so need to figure out if the weight will be ok.
- For 100 gal, ~220lbs (water) + 100lbs (LR) + 20lbs (fish?) + ~200lbs (canopy/tank/stand) = ~450lbs.
- I figure that's 3 guys 150lbs each, standing in a 5'5" x 2" area... should b OK right?

Here's all the stuff it came with:

Tank:
- Acrylic, with some scratches on inside & outside[TODO]: buffing. Thinking of the Novus Kit.
- Integrated overflow at the back middle, with space for a lot of biofilter, as well a return pump.[/INDENT]

Canopy - lots of room for lighting & misc equipment.

Stand
- two doors in the front, one door on the side for sliding the sump in.
- Exterior dimensions: 5'5" x 23"
- Internal dimensions: will update (need to know if a G3 skimmer will fit)

Sump:
- Size: not sure how many gallons. Will measure to calculate
- A partition on one side, and a sliding plate with a hole on top. See attached pic.

Skimmer - ViaAqua SK-388 in-sump. Has a broken connection in a joint. TODO Fix the joint, or sell this & buy new one. Thinking of the G-3. Overkill ?

Lighting:
- Dual 250W metal halide ballast.
- 2 x sockets for metal halide bulbs
- IceCap 430-008 ballast. 220V input, 330W output - 3 lamps @ 110W each
- 4 x sockets for CFLs.
- Niche Electronics Solar 500 dimmer
- Aerator - will update with specific model #

Heating:
- Ebo Jager 150W.