Signs that it's time to refresh your RODI

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Jan

Hi

I bought an RODI unit from The Filter Guys. I've been using it for over 6 months and haven't changed filters or resin. My TDS meter that came with the unit still reads 0.00 TDS. Are there common signs that it's time to change out your filters and/or your DI resin? The Filter Guys said to change filters every 6 months on average and to change resin when the TDS measures >2. (FWIW, the TDS of my untreated local water is like 33, so not terrible.)

Don knows a lot more about this than myself, but if your water is less polluted the filters will last longer. If they are still reading 0.00 TDS, sounds like no need to replace.

Last edited:
If you have color change di resin it will be sort of brown instead of dark green when its exhausted. As far as the prefilters go if the system is not falling off in terms of how long it takes to make the rated capacity they are fine also. 33 is very low and as long as we dont have any watershed issues or line flushing they should go close to a year.

Don

my filter is also from them as well... my input is anywher from 25-110ppm iv always bin 0 comeing outta the unit...

now i wounder,

what unit did you get from the filterguys? (tds meter)

but the pre filters will darken with time..... the di will change from that black 2 a off brown like don said....

i replaced all my filters and my Di with out replaceing my RO.... and i noticed that this time my Di took a beating quickly....

next time around ill order the hole thing... the pre filters, the Ro and the Di refills