Wich Skimmer.......

• MRC2R Recirculating

Votes: 3 27.3%
  • H&S A200 External

Votes: 8 72.7%

• Total voters

servicky

Owner
I Am getting back into reefing and i have been using beckett style skimmers for about 10 yrs now. MRC and Reef Concepts. I am now debating on a needle wheel style skimmer. Any Thought would be great.... This is for a mixed lps and sps 150 gallon tank With fish...

MRC2R recirculating skimmer

H&S a200 External

I liked my mrc more than I like my new needle wheel. It seemed like I had more controll with the MRC and more skimmate. I didn't like the electric bill that came with the beckett thought. :lol:

Brian

well i definately voted for the h&s, but for that price, i 'd rather own an ATI bubble master@ 500 euro, but you would have to import it from germany...
the obvious benifit to a nw skimmer is less watts to be sure, but imo, i think the needlewheel skimmers (that have appropriately matched lph of air suction as a beckett) are going to be more stable, with less effects from feeding, dosing, and barometric pressure/weather, as well as less maintenance, i.e. that blasted beckett injector that always damn clogs. but i will say that typically a really good beckett skimmer like mrc or reef concepts is going to have a build quality that will surpass most n.w. skimmers.
you might also want to check out geo skimmers as well, very long waiting period, but some of the highest quality skimmers and reactors out there, and you can get either beckett or nw, and his nw skimmers are better quality that alot of the german imported ones, mabyev not better than h&s, but as good to be sure

Last edited:
i like the Octopus Needle wheel 200...it works great and comes with a cheap price...Aquariumextreme.com!!!!! Lowest prices....i have one..several people have purchased them lately and love them...

i agree with ron. These skimmers do a great job from what i've seen from other peoples pics. I think the biggest problem is waiting for them to be shipped.