sps's with leather corals?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

as1720

Female Hermit crab
I heard you shouldnt mix them?

I have a devels hand and another small one im not sure exactly what it is but its a leather i plan on getting some sps this weekend.

Should i sell the leathers?

It is doable, but not recommended. I have a few leathers and a sps together. Running carbon and frequent water changes will help.

Well i will go ahead and sell them its only a 29 gallon tank and one of the leathers is HUGE! Or maybe just keep the little one.

Ive been running a mixed reef for three years. Recently, I made the choice to remove my one leather, ten rics, a few zoas and a medium sized hynophora from my 450G system. Within a week I could tell a huge difference in my SPS. They are sooo much happier now.

oh really so the LPS and zoos did it too??

It all adds up............. Mostly, Id bet it was the leather and the hyndophora.

I removed the hyndophora a week after the rest but both times, believe it or not, I could see visible improvments in SPS polyp extention. The hynophora was a huge difference in just 12 hours on that end of the tank. I was shocked. Ive had most of these corals since day one.

Now I'm not so carbon dependant

sweet so the hyndophora's gonna stay in the 29.. Thanks for the heads up brother..
I really gotta get some carbon running LOL

Well the zoos stay in the big tank but the leathers are going back to the small tank...
LPS and SPS and zoos for me...I'll run carbon...

I have a some zoos and rics in my current tank should i take them out too? probly 10 rics now, and a small little rock of zoos. But its only a 29 gallon tank.

I was thinking about setting up a 10 gallon anyways if so. :D

Mushrooms arent as toxic as leathers and GSP, but like all softies will take a toll on your water quality.

That is why I stick to just LPS and SPS.