Superglue technique...

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

windwaterwaves

Aquaholic
Ok, I am new to the reef environment. I have a 75 gallon that I have converted from a bleach/fish only tank. A monster lionfish, a clown, and a naso tang.

I purchased some softies - dendronepthya, scleronepthya, some zoo's, a couple of mushrooms, and now a horn coral and moon coral.

My problem is, I suck trying to superglue things, usually my fingers are covered, but nothing sticks, i killed my sponge with it, and arranging things is a pain. So my question to all of you is, what is the best way to use this stuff?

Soft corals don't glue very well as they slime up too much for the glue to work. Superglue works great with hard corals (SPS)

With soft corals, there's several techniques that work well, depending on your coral and your circumstances. With corals that have a stock, like Xenia, Kenya Tree etc, I usually push a toothpick through the stock and then poke the toothpick tight into a hole in the live rock. Once the coral attaches, I remove the toothpick. Another option is to wedge the coral frag between a couple pieces of live rock rubble until it attaches to one. Other people have actually used nylon fishing line and sewed or tied the coral to rock, or used rubber bands. Just don't do so very tightly or it'll just cut the coral in half. Other people have used "bridal veil" and netted the coral around the rock until it attaches. Still others have used shot glasses with a little sand and rubble in it. Place the coral in the glass in an area where the flow won't blow it out of the glass. After it attaches, just place it where you want it.

Soft corals don't glue very well as they slime up too much for the glue to work. Superglue works great with hard corals (SPS)