Suspending lights from ceiling?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

jezzeaepi

I am trying to figure out the best way to suspend my lights from the ceiling. Obviously safety is a big factor here, since I dont want my MH's to come crashing down into the tank, so Id rather overbuild and spend a bit more for piece of mind. All the relfectors and mounting hardware together will weigh around 35 pounds, so I will need something strong.

Pictured below is what I am working with. Yes I have leet ms paint Skillz =P
tank.GIF

The blue thing is my tank, the grey thing is my stand, the black things are the three reflectors that I would like to suspend(2 lumenarcs and a pfo), at the top, and the red squares represent where in the ceiling there are studs that can be used for mounting.

So, how do I fill in the blank part of the image? hehe. Im a noob when it comes to DIY. I imagine I want to mount some sort of bar or grate thats anchored at those 4 locations, and then I can suspend the lights from that... However after walking around the hardware store for a while yesterday I came up short on finding all the pieces I would need.

This is the last step before my tank is up and running, so I am really anxious to get it done. If you have any tips, no matter how obvious they may seem to you, let me know =)

Peace
Jesse

i would place a support between the studs to ensure integrity then you can hang the lights centered like you want. Best of luck.

35lbs is not much weight. Run to lowes and get a piece of 3/4" square aluminum tube. Screw all your lights to it. The drop cables straight down from the studs. I think pfo cable kits come with a scew that will go right into the stud.

Don

i did right thur the droped ceiling... right to the stud.. 4 small wood screws
eh 1/2" long at most i think smaller tho