Switching to Salt!

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Cheechako

Hello everyone!

I'm a long-time lurker, first-time poster. I've kept fresh water cichlid and mixed community tanks for 15+ years and have always wanted to make the switch. I've been researching it off and on for a few years, but never had the "disposable" income or time. But now! YES! It's time!

It's a 46 Gallon Bow Front tank with glass top. Currently running two HOB power filters. At first I was just going to use those and do a FOWLR setup with my current std flourescent 10k bulb, but the allure of the reef tank got the better of me! I'll be ditching the power filters in favor of a sump made out of a 10 gal aquarium that was left over from my kids' failed hermit crab venture.

Here's what I'm in so far:

$100 (ebay) Coralife T-5 fixture (2 10K, 2 Actinic, LED moonlight)
$85 (LFS) eshopps overflow
$60 (LFS) Rio 1700
2 x $35 (ebay) Koralia 750
$100 (Home Depot) misc. plumbing, drain hose, return hose, power strip, acrylic for baffles.
$179 (LFS) Tunze DOC Nano 9002 Protein Skimmer

Here's the "before" shot:
DSC01572.jpg

I got my light fixture in the mail and was excited to see how it worked.
Here's with just the LED moon lights:
IMG_0061.jpg

10 Gallon Sump:
IMG_0058.jpg

Inlet on the right, bubble trap, fuge/return section combined and separated by a short acrylic piece and egg crate. I followed a Malevsreef design. I want a larger return section so I can go several days between top-offs (being an airline pilot, I'm away for days at a time).
IMG_0059.jpg

Here's the sump under the tank:
IMG_0071.jpg

I plan on making a plywood "floor" since the grate on the bottom won't support the sump. On the left a top-off water jug.
IMG_0072.jpg

Behind the top-off jug is the power center. I've labeled the cords and am trying to keep it as organized as I can:
IMG_0073.jpg