Tank at 72 degrees and never looked better

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

zkirby

OK, I know the optimum tank temp is between 74 and 80 degrees but this is wierd. I've been battling a terrible algae problem for a few months. The algae is a brownish slimy stuff that covers my sand and rocks and extends up 2-4 inches and waves around in the water. It looks like thin layers of mucus membrane and pretty much covers everything. My tank has always been at 78-80. Last thursday I siphoned out a ton of the algae and did a 5 gallon water change (Tank is 29 gallons) just as I've been doing each week for months. I then ever so slightly tweaked my stealth heater from the 72 to the 69ish position to try to get the temp to drop 2-3 degrees as it's been at or slightly above 80 since the weather has been getting better. I then left for a 4 day long weekend with family. When I came back the tank looked amazing. My Rose anemone was fully extended and open, something she hasn't done since the algae outbreak. My Orange Dendro was in the same state. My Baby 1.5" Pacific Blue Tang was swimming around as happy as can be (I know, I know, I will need a bigger tank asap for him. I was very confused, so I checked everything and immediately noticed the temp was 72 degrees at most. Am I flirting with disaster? I did crank the heater back up a bit to try to get to 74-76.

Thoughts?

zkirby