Test

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Reef Monkey

Hi everyone. Ok I'm going to be honest I'm new to this hobby and I need a little help. What is the best equipment/strips to get to test the parameters of my tank? My tank is going to a nano tank BB 12 gallon tank with hopefully a 75 watt MH and I'm hoping to have an array of different types of coral along with a couple of clown fish. What exactly should I be testing for? I just bought a Refractometer for the salinity, but I know that I also need to test for ph, CA, ALk, Nitrates among other things I'm curious what those other things are and what I need to get to properly test for them. Also how often should I be testing the parameters, daily, weekly? I appreciate any help that any one may be able to offer. I'm excited to get my tank up and see what I can get going.

Salifert is by far the most popular brand of test kits out there IMO. Little more pricey over the others (so I've heard) but I buy nothing else and find it reasonable for the quality you are getting. Too often people complain about nitrate or calcium issues and so forth when they never had a problem but just used bad kits so I say get yourself some Salifert. As for which kits, Mag, calcium and alkalinity are good to keep an eye one. You want these numbers within range of natural seawater if you plan to keep corals to provide them with optimum conditions. In the beginning you may have to test your water for these more often (like every few days) so you can get an idea of how quickly they are being used up and also to help you figure out your doseages of supplements if you need to add any and once you've figured them out, then you can wait a little longer in between testing. Also, you'd want to keep an eye on nitrates. Just a few thoughts...:)

If your looking at a nano check out Krish's 24g pod, slightly bigger but same principle in design & if anyone has it down Krish does!
Welcome to RF!

Code: