Treating Ich Questions

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

jlearned

Forewarning this may get a little long winded. I am new to this hobby and I am learning very quickly how things should and should not be done. A little background first. . .

I started my current tank back in September of this year. I have a 55 Gallon FOWLR aquarium. I have 2 Ocellaris Clown, 1 Dragon Goby, 4 Peppermint Shrimp, and 1 Cleaner Shrimp, plus an assortment of Hermits and Snails (20 each). I also have 60 Lbs of live sand and 50 Lbs of live rock. I use a canister filter that is cleaned every 2 weeks, and hang on tank CPR Protein Skimmer. I have been performing monthly water changes because my water parameters have been stable and unchanged since the completion of cycling (pH 8.4, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate0, kH 8.0, Calcium 400-450, and Phosphates 0, Temp 80F). The last items added to my tank were the peppermint shrimp at the beginning of the month (they were not quarantined).

OK so here is my problem. . . I noticed 2 days ago that one of my Ocellaris Clown fish was shaking while swimming and upon closer inspection I found a little off white colored bump on one of his stripes. He started rubbing up against the LR as well. I am pretty sure that this is ich from my discussions with the LFS. They recommended getting a cleaner shrimp in hopes that it would be able to take care of the parasite problem without resorting to chemicals. However after further research on this site and others I have discovered that the cleaner shrimp is not effective at removing ich. I have read Lee Birch's article concerning ich. But that still left me with a few questions.

1. If I were to remove that affected clown to a QT tank and treat him their, don’t I still need to be worried about other parasites in my main tank?