??? VHO lights not working ???

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

lion-clown

I just bought a 37 gal tank and it came with an icap ballast 660 and 3 VHO bulbs but the lights don't work (I new this when I bought it). So I'm trying to figure out how to fix it. When I first plug it in one light starts to warm up but then goes out. I have never had VHOs before and the wiring looks crazy. The only thing else is the light fixtures look a little worn and I don't know if the lights themselves are any good. Any ideas would be great.

PS I don't even know the different types of VHOs or T5s I'm really new to these lights and I don't want to spend a lot of money to get them to work just in case I decided I like metal halides better( That is all I have ever used).

Thanks for any help.

Thanks I haven't tryed new bulbs yet. It's weird to me that the closet light to me turns on then off in like 10 sec and the others do nothing. Also could it be the fuse? but if the fuse is gone it shouldn't turn on at all right?

the vho!!!

Also I just turned it on with no lights in and I heard it start to run and pop but not a loud pop.

If the light is turning on for 10 seconds then turning off usually I found it may have something to do with the wiring. I had that issue with mine I had to double check to make sure all my wiring was secure and such and then boom it worked just fine. I wouldn't worry to much about a fuse and such just check the wiring.

If you have the white 3 piece end caps, I would take the wires out, one at a time and cut a short piece off each one and reinstall.
Make sure each one is secure.

I found wires that where not connected and connected them now it doesn't light up at all and it blows fuses every time I plug it in. I think I'm going to switch to metal halides I don't like these lights at all.