Water Test Kits

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

windwaterwaves

Aquaholic
I've been doing this reef thing now for 6 months now and one of the things I like the least is testing, especially calcium (drop swirl, drop swirl, drop swirl) mine shows up over 600, I don't supplement anymore for sure.

What manufacturers are your favorite? Which kits are easy no hassle quick tests? What cool electronics do you have to check things...?

Finally.. in order of necessity what tests would you buy first..?

I have used salifert kits for years.

I believe that the absolutely necessary test kits are Calcium, Alkalinity and Magnesium.
I have a nitrate kit, but haven't used it in so long that it has probably expired.
I have an organics kit that I use sometimes (in my tank, back when I was testing nitrates, organics were more of a nutrient problem than nitrate).

A refractometer for testing salinity is a necessity. By the time you have broken your second (good quality) hydrometer, you will have paid for a refractometer. (a cheap hydrometer is not worth having)

I have trusted my reef to all Salifert test for four almost five years now and test monthly or as needed.
Testing your parameters in a reef is essential to proper reef keeping. I know it can be a pain at times but if you plan ahead it can help some.

I agree with dnjan with a refractometer as I started with a hydrometer and it broke after a couple months of use. Spend a few extra bucks and get yourself a refractometer.

And as for your Ca reading being so high, I can remember that I had problems with low readings depending on which salt I used and now with Oceanic salt my Ca readings can be a bit higher to where I do not need to do additional dosing for the first few days after a water change.

Hope this helps,
Alex