Water testing equipment

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Stick

Tony, I've been reading your posts regarding the care of Corals and in several you mention running a complete test of the water. As a newbie I've been depending on taking samples in to the marine store for their analysis. But it sounds like I should/could be doing it on my own.

What testing equipment would you recommend?

If its a brand new setup its important to know when it has cycled. So you would want to measure nitrites, ammonia, and nitrates. After cycling its a good idea to keep track of nitrates and I feel phosphates too. In addition you need to keep you calcium and alkalinity levels in balance. Naturally seawater has a salinity of around 35 PPT so a hydrometer is handy and calibrating a hydrometer is even handier. As far as other additives, if you can't find a test kit for it don't add it. Strontium for instance is sold as an additive. If you can't find a test kit for it and you do routine water changes chances are you're better off not dosing it IMO. I personally like salifert test kits but everyone has a particular preference. With regards to phosphate tests there are very few that measure inorganic and organic phosphates. I hope this helps.

many good brands out there... for hobby grade I like Aquarium Systems and Red Sea master kits.

For higher shelf brands... Hach or LaMotte

kindly :)