What do I need...........

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

Losoccer14

Please Help.

I currently have a glass 65 gallon aquarium (48"l x 24"h x 12-1/2"d). I have nothing else yet with the exception of the stand and canopy.

What I would like to do is have a set up with live sand 3in or so, live rock around 100lbs, a few inverts, a small amount of soft coral, and a few fish. The excat combinations I am not sure yet as I am new to this. Looking for some opinions on good combinations.

More important, what type of filtration. I want something moderate in price, but something that is going to work. I really do not want to do a sump. I have heard good things about the Bak Pak with skimmer (I would do 2 of them). My lps says that I should go with the Aquafuge hang-on refugium with skimmer. I would prefer to do something hang on. Any thoughts would be helpfull.

Powerheads? how many?

What type of lighting will work well. Will a PC unit 4 bulb by 65w work ok with 10k, and actnic bulbs? I know this is the lower price end of things, but if it will work for what I want to acomplish then it will work for me.

And if you have anything for sale that you think I need, or know of anything that is for sale that is suggested for me include that info too please

These are my main concerns for now....I am sure you guys will help find some more concerns for me.

Last edited:
HI and welcome to RF. :)

The excat combinations I am not sure yet as I am new to this. Looking for some opinions on good combinations.

Thats for you to figure out and part of the fun of the whole hobby. :)
As far as filtration, I think most people leave it to the LR and a skimmer. Some (and me) also use a filter with carbon (and sometimes a phosphate absorbing resin)

I don't know much about skimmers but the backpack does not ring a bell as one of the good ones. Ask skimmerwisperer, the dude has about 300 skimmers :lol:

Last edited: