What do you guys think of my fish list?

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

NewGirl

:rolleyes:Hi there everyone, and Happy Thanksgiving!

As I'm gathering all my equipment together for my future LPS and fish tank, I've been doing a lot of reading trying to come up with a good fish list. It's been revised more times than I can count, and I came up with what I hope to be the final one. My tank size is 150 gallons: 48" long by 24" wide by 30" tall. Here's my list:

Bluechin Trigger (non-negotiable--GOT to have one!)
Regal Tang (1)
Foxface (1)
2 Percula Clowns
Orchid Dottyback (1)
Sixline Wrasse (1)

I'm brand new at saltwater, and I'm hoping you guys can advise me on my fish list. I look forward to any advice and recommendations. Thanks so much! :)

Happy Thanksgiving to you too.

With the exception of some restrictions on the Tang and Foxface, the list looks good. Both these fish, when they exceed 3" should be in a display tank that is 6 or more feet long.

Good luck!

:DThanks a lot, Lee! I'm glad I found out now! What do you think would be other good fish to go with the ones my list? My main goal is to have happy, healthy fish, and I'm going to do my best to see to that!:D:D

newgirl,

Personally, I would rather have a foxface than a tang. Foxface are not nearly suspectible to Ich like the Tangs are. I have a gold spotted rabbitfish in my tank and I love it. The only tang I plan on adding is a Red Sea Blonde Naso Tang. It will be one of the last fish to be added since tangs can be territorial.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/7329275@N05/1089126812/

Kirk

Choosing fishes is very personal IMHO. I can't help you with that. However, if you want Anemonefish and Wrasses, you should look towards fishes that are assertive and not shy. There is a chance that the "Bluchin Trigger" could turn out to be too shy to get along with the Anemonefish.