yet another noob question

Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum

Help Support Reef Aquarium & Tank Building Forum:

kcharm

I hate being the noob, but everybody was at some point...I guess it's my turn.

For background, I'm a fish biologist and I'm used to working with equipment I can't afford. The aquarium test kits seem so inaccurate to me (except KH, I like titrations). Anyway, reading through a few threads I think I need to provide more info from test kits I don't have...yet. My current conditions are as follows...

NH3/NH4 nada
NO2 nada
NO3 about 12 (I also have a little issue with color)
KH 10 (this is the one I'm unfamiliar with but I think this is REALLY low)
Salinity is a tad low at 31ppm (I've never used SG at work or in school so it's tough for me to think in those numbers)
Temp is stable at 80deg

With those numbers in a 29g that's still being set up, how's it look? What all should happen to make things better? I've got 12 pounds of live rock in there right now and another 20ish pounds coming this weekend. There is 1 damsel in the tank. It's been up about a month. I've got a fluval 204 running until I build a stand big enough to house my other 29g underneath which will become the sump. At that point I'll get an AquaC Urchin (do they make a pro in the urchin, I forget, and if so, should I upgrade to that?).

Well, your answers should make my head spin. I'm sitting down so let 'em rip!

Your KH, or Degrees of Carbonate Hardness, (a measure of alkalinity from carbonates) is in the "normal" range...but it also depends on what your Calcium level is as well, as the two need to be in balance. For a dKH of 10, you'd want a Ca level around 430ppm. Be aware however, that Ca levels above 420 really don't help corals, they can actually hinder coral tissue growth.